The Root of Innocence

SKU: N/A Categories: , ,

The Root of Innocence, The Fuzz’s second full-length album, marks the young band’s stride into confident maturity. It kicks off with “Control”, an anthem about youth lost and the trudge into adulthood. This coming-of-age theme pops up throughout the album, with contemplative and plaintive lyrics on topics cosmic (“Borderless”, “Psychedelic”), poetic (“Xiamen”), and deeply personal (“Time is Sinking”). This is an album about the veneer of childhood peeling away, set to stirring melody and driving rhythm. Swirling synth layers foreground some of the album’s most poignant tracks, as on lead single “0909 II”, another pained attempt to reclaim lost hours: “Time belongs to us / Don’t lose it / And don’t let it be stolen / Instead, stop time.” Recommended for fans of other touchstones in the brooding China-indie universe: PK14, Re-TROS, Birdstriking, Chui Wan.

Released: Jan 26, 2016

Formats: LP, CD

Tracks: 11 songs