Silly’s Ballads


7 in stock

SKU: FDMM0037-BO-00 Categories: ,

It’s been 2 years since Xiaohe’s bizarre double CD “The Performance Of identity” (2010) was released. As one of the most important avant-garde artists in China, his astonishing creativity doesn’t change or vanish with the passing of time, instead he becomes more distinctive and interesting. He keeps on playing his solo symphonies and “universal experimental folk”, which has gained him much appreciation and a glowing reputation. Xiaohe and his songs have been to dozens of countries and whilst performing last autumn he jumped off the stage and broke his feet! This album, Silly’s Ballad, was created while he was instructed to rest at home by doctors, with his feet set in heavy casts. Xiaohe wrote all 12 songs with an acoustic guitar, he even recorded them while in bed and on the couch. The album overflows with beautiful melodies and classic folk arias.  He writes of the album, “While I was recording [the songs], cicadas were tweeting, and sometimes even a plane passed by. I tried to record without any external sounds before by thickening the walls of my studio, but at the same time I was isolating beautiful things outside.” So, when Xiaohe returned to write love songs again, he was inspired by diverse colors and sounds. Besides the self-deprecating title, natural feelings hide in every sentence of the lyrics, reflecting Xiaohe’s wisdom and philosophy. The use of narrative poems throughout the album helps Xiaohe express his mystical world in sounds and words.  Silly’s Ballad released in a very special and limited format: not on CD, tape or vinyl, but as a ‘musical artbook’. It is perhaps the first of it’s kind. This multimedia truly enables Xiaohe’s creativity better expression. The artbook contains 12 different pictures of leaves, drawn by Xiaohe in Zurich in 2010. Those leaves lay scattered on the mountain road Xiaohe walked along every morning to exercise. The 12 songs correspond to 12 different leaves. High-end headphone brand 233621 has generously provided specialized custom-made headphones for this ‘album’. Furthermore, this musical artbook also includes three music videos which were commissioned to three up-and-coming and very talented directors: Yu Liwei, Yang Jin and Zhang Yuedong.  Xiaohe expressed his wishes for the artbook: “I hope this album will become the glorious road along which a silly person is looking for another silly person.”

Released: Sept 24, 2011

Formats: Book + MP3

Tracks: 12 songs